Types of Drug Screens

DOT Regulations require testing under the following six situations. Drug-free Workplace companies may use these situations as part of their company policy or as a guide.

1.  Pre-employment  

          -Companies are required to test applicants they plan to hire who will perform in a safety-sensitive function.                  

2.  Reasonable suspicion

          -Supervisors who are in a position to make reasonable suspicion determinations must be trained in recognizing the signs of drug abuse. 

   -This training  consists of at least 60 minutes of training in recognizing the... 

3.  Post-accident

           Post accident testing is required if the following conditions arise:


          -The driver receives a moving vehicle citation and any vehicle in the accident is towed or incurs "disabling damage".

 4.  Random

          -FMCSA regulations require all CDL drivers undergo random drug and alcohol testing. 

          -Once the random selections are announced, those chosen for testing must have the tests performed immediately.  

5.  Follow-up    

​          -Follow up testing is required after rehabilitation for a drug or alcohol misuse problem and a return-to-duty test.

​          -Six unannounced follow-up tests are required within one year of evaluation and treatment by a Substance Abuse Professional.

 6.  Return-to-duty

          -This testing is required for employees who want to return to work after being unqualified for a safety-sensitive function. 

          -The return-to-duty testing can be done once the referral/evaluation has been completed.

​Additional Modules

For Companies that operate under different DOT administrations, we offer the following specialty modules:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)   

           This applies to every person or entity, which operates a commercial motor vehicle in interstate or

           intrastate commerce, and is subject to the commercial driver's license requirements.

Federal Transit Administration (FTA)

          This applies to every entity which provides mass transportation service or which performs a safety-

          sensitive function for such recipient or other entity.

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

          Post accident testing is required if the following conditions arise:

          This applies to all aviation industry employers who are part one twenty one certificate holders.  This

          includes safety-sensitive employees such as: Flight crew members, flight attendants, flight instructors, 

          aircraft dispatchers, aircraft maintenance, security guard coordinators, aviation screeners and air traffic


Research and Special Projects Administration (RSPA)

          RSPA rules apply to gas, hazardous liquid and carbon dioxide pipeline operators, and liquefied natural gas operators subject to 49 C.F.R. Part 192, 193, or 195.

Employees, for the purpose of the rule, include contractors or subcontractors engaged in the covered work

We also conduct all types of alternative testing such as Hair and Saliva.


Note: Many of the DOT Regulations were adopted by the PUC (Public Utilities Commission) - If it applies to your operation.